Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

NAACP- Diversity Educator Award

Posted on: March 5, 2024

The Oxford NAACP Education Committee is seeking nominations for the 2024 Diversity Educator of the Year.  The award will be presented to the recipient at the NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet on Friday, April 19, 2024, at the MU Shriver Center.  The honoree will receive a $200 award to select educational materials which promote diversity awareness and are to be shared with all staff and students in the district/school.  The criteria for the Diversity Educator of the Year are for any employee of the Talawanda School District or McGuffey Montessori school who:

  • Promotes equality and fairness,
  • Demonstrates appreciation for diversity,
  • Exemplifies acceptance of all people, and
  • Challenges others to broaden their perspectives.

Previous recipients have been:

2007       Amy Young

2008       Darlene Mahaney

2009       Ruth Pettitt

2010       Joe O’Flynn (also recognized Kelly Spivey, diversity administrator)

2011       Mel Edwards (also recognized Vicki Brunn, diversity administrator)

2012       Lois Meade 

2013       Linda Bucher (also recognized Jason Merz, diversity administrator)

2014       Alison Bridge (Honorable Mention Kari Croucher and Teri Morris)

2015       Jamillah Hamidullah (also recognized Amy Macechko, diversity administrator and honorable mention to Suzie Katto and Stephanie Aerni)

2016       Kari King (also recognized Ashley Sammons, Jeannie Lefevers-Cummins & Nate Silberstein)

2017     Elise McWilliams

2018       Stephanie Pearson and Ryan Steffan

2019       Rohit Menezes, Wendy Duvall, Mark Radlinksi

(we did not give awards in 2020 or 2021 due to COVID Restrictions cancelling the Freedom Fund Banquet)

2022       Molly Todd

2023       Andrea Taulbee

Letters of nomination, with a description of activities by the nominee, should be sent to Ann Wengler at or to 4250 Nichols Road, Oxford, Ohio 45056.  Nominations must be received by Friday, April 5, 2023.