Side Menu Begins
Ohio Campaign LawsContact Ohio Elected OfficialsSample Letters & Talking PointsSchool Social Workers
Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins

Board Members:

The Talawanda Board of Education is the governing and policy making body of the school district and made up of 5 members elected by the community.  Elected members serve 4 year terms.  The primary objective of the group is to develop policy and approve policy as aligned through the Ohio Revised Code.  The group works directly with the superintendent and the treasurer to implement those policies.

Bec Howard
Contact Information
Rebecca Howard ('27)      President



1345 Dana Dr.
Oxford 45056


  • Educational Consultant/Trainer: Oxford Early Childhood Consulting
  • Miami University Instructor: Teacher Education/Educational Leadership
  • Owner/Administrator Oxford Early Childhood Center: 1986-95 & 2005-14
  • Graduated Miami University 2010: PhD Educational Leadership
  • Born and raised in Hamilton: graduated Hamilton Taft HS 1976
  • Living in Reily Township since 1991
  • Daughter graduated Talawanda 2014
  • President, Oxford Literacy Team
  • Board Member, Oxford Area Community Theater
  • Elected to Talawanda Board of Education November 2019
Chris Otto
Contact Information
Chris Otto ('27)      Vice President


  505 Glenview Dr.
Oxford, Ohio 45056 

  • Elected to the Board in 2015
  • 27 year resident of Oxford
  • Resides in the City of Oxford
  • Wife Lisa, and four grown children, all THS graduates
  • Licensed School Treasurer
  • Served as the Senior Director for University Advancement Finance & Business Services
Pat Meade
Contact Information
Pat Meade ('25)     Member



100 Lantern Ridge Dr.
Oxford, Ohio 45056


  • Elected to the Board 2017
  • Resident of Oxford for 49 years
  • Married to, Lois, and they have 6 children together (all THS graduates)
  • Grandchildren attend Talawanda Schools
  • 45 years in education, with a focus in Career Based Intervention
  • Began the Butler Tech Connections Program with Leah-Wasburn-Moses
  • Chair of the OPD Community Relations & Review Commission


David Bothast
Contact Information
David M. Bothast ('25)    Member



3384 Oxford Reily Road
Oxford, Ohio 45056 


  • Elected to the Board in 2021
  • 9 year resident of Oxford
  • Resides in Reily Township
  • All three (3) children are  or have been Talawanda students
  • Licensed elementary (Ohio K-5) teacher
  • 5th grade science teacher in Hamilton City School District
  • Former Assistant Director of Family Philanthropy, Miami University
  • Former Director of Corporate & Foundation Relations, University of Evansville
  • Graduate Instructor, University of Evansville
  • Former Director, Goodwill Industries
  • Former Executive Director, American Red Cross
  • Former charter school teacher, science grades 3-5
  • US Navy Hospital Corpsman (1996-2001)
  • Worked in education and nonprofit services since 2002
Dawn King photo
Contact Information
Dawn King ('27)     Member 


  3905 Hamilton-Richmond Rd.
Hamilton, OH 45013


  • Lifetime Resident of Talawanda School District
  • Resident of Milford Township (grew up in Hanover Township)
  • Talawanda Graduate- Class of 1997
  •  Children attended Talawanda High School (daughter-THS-2017, son-THS-2023)
  • BS Microbiology, Miami University
  • Research Microbiologist, 21 years, specializing in a method to detect pathogens in drinking water
  • Open Hands Food Pantry Volunteer
  • National Treasury Employees Union (NTEU, Secretary & Executive Board Member)
  • Elected to the Board in 2023